Skip to content

Fountain Pens

August 10, 2010

I recently got my hands on a fountain pen when I was clearing out some junk. My bedroom used to be my father’s office, you see, so he keeps a lot of stuff inside the room which hasn’t been cleared out since he moved to a proper office. So I was doing a bit of spring-cleaning and found (amongst other things) a fountain pen with 5 nibs and an inkwell.

I’ve been practicing with them last night on my History worksheet and today on the draft of this blog post. I find the fountain pens easier to write with because the pen flows smoothly over the page. However, they have to be held at a specific angle in order to write properly and you can’t leave the pen uncovered overnight. The ink dries up quickly if left unattended. Also, the ink tends to smudge if you rub it before it dries. It dries pretty quickly, to its credit.

I’ve been considering whether I should consider actually using the fountain pens for homework assignments and the like. In other words, official work. Honestly there isn’t much difference in ink between the gel pens and the fountain pen. I don’t have trouble with the writing itself (because I hold pens correctly), but refilling is an issue. The ink overflows and makes great big splotches on the writing paper.

I like the words written with the fountain pens more aesthetically pleasing because of the variance in the individual strokes’ thickness. The strokes written by the other types of pens seem boring and static.

Let me just tell you guys a little bit about the pen nibs. I have five pen nibs (I threw one away, it was broken). They are labelled B2, B3, B4, Italic Fine and Italic Medium. I used the Italic Fine to write the draft for this blog post because it was the finest nib. I have absolutely no idea what the individual letters mean, or whether naming the nib Italic Fine means I have to write in Italic. Whatever. I’m just going to write normally.

EDIT: I checked out Wikipedia, and it says that “As a result, the typical fountain pen requires little or no pressure to write,” because “Ideally, a fountain pen’s nib glides across the paper using the ink as a lubricant, and requires no pressure.” Cool, I suppose. I found that my writing speed increased rather significantly when I wrote with a fountain pen. Also, Wikipedia confirms my findings that “[Refilling] was a cumbersome and potentially messy process”. Yay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

